👨‍💻

User Accounts

💡

User accounts let you gate parts of your web app and keep users data private. You can add user accounts using our modals or make your own custom form.

Introduction

User accounts in Busywork allows users to

  • Sign up using their email address and password
  • Sign in with their credentials
  • Reset their password in case they've lost it
  • Link data to the user (private data)
💡

Gating parts of your web app doesn't just hide private data. With Busywork data isn't served in the frontend, if a user isn't authenticated.

Setting Up

In order to add user accounts to your web app, you need to create a least one plan for your app. A plan is a subscription that is created when a user creates an account. A plan can either be free or paid.

Multiple pricing plans are used when you want to limit lower-priced plans for using the power features of your app.

💡

To publish paid plans you need a Stripe account and a Pro subscription with Busywork. Other Busywork plans only allow you to publish free plans.

Create a Plan

Every web app that has user accounts need at least one plan. Plans allow you to bill users for using your app. You can create and manage the plans of your web app from the Users section's Plans page.

image

Below we'll explain the setup of both free and paid plans for your app.

💡

If you're not planning on billing the users of your web app, you only need to create a single free plan. You can add paid plans anytime.

Free Plan

In most cases, a web app offers either a free plan or a paid plan with a free trial period. This section will explain how you can set up a free plan for your web app.

Once you've clicked the New Plan button a new window will open. Initially, it will be set up for creating a new paid plan. To change to creating a free plan, click the Free button in the Plan Pricing section.

image

Now all the options for setting up a paid plan are hidden. The only required information that you need to provide is the name of the plan.

Plan names have to be unique within the workspace.

When you've chosen a name for the plan, simply click save. Now your web app has a free plan.

Paid Plan

Paid plans are used when you want to charge users for access to your app and a subset of your features. With Busywork you can create one-time payments or subscriptions for your app, with an optional free trial period.

Example of a paid plan
Example of a paid plan

You can create a paid plan from the Users section's Plans page. Once you've opened the New Plan modal you simply fill out the form.

The Plan name is the identifier for the plan and will be shown in the users invoice and credit card statements, with the name of your app. If you're planning on having variants of a plan for monthly and annual billing you could name them "Starter Plan Monthly" and "Starter Plan Annually".

The Price is what the user is charged for the current plan. It is billed in the currency that you've specified in the Users section's Settings page. To see how to change the billing currency, click here.

The Frequency is the billing interval. You can choose between multiple options, such as yearly, monthly and one-time. Any option except one-time will create a subscription with your Stripe account, charging your user according to your chosen billing interval.

Free Trial allows you to specify a trial period for your plan. This postpones charging the users debit or credit card till after the trial period has ended. The Trial Duration determines for how long the user can use your app, before being charged.

Now you just need to click Save, and you're done. You've added a paid plan to your app.

Create Test Users

In the Users section's Members page you can add users manually. This is especially useful for testing purposes.

image

Use an email that you have access to and create a user and assign the user one of your plans. If your app has a restricted set of features for lower-priced plans you can create a test user for each plan.

💡

Manually created users can be assigned any plan when in development mode. Once your app has been put into production you cannot manually add users to paid plans.

App & Payment Settings

Before you can publish plans for your app, both free and paid, you need to complete the settings for your app. You can find the settings in the Users section's Settings page.

App Name

The app name is what you want to name your app. This name will appear in user invoices, credit card statements and emails. This field is required to publish any plan.

Domains

Busywork currently supports two modes when setting up Forms and Connect. You can switch between Development and Production. The modes are defined by their respective URL's, that you can set up in the Users section's Settings page.

💡

We don't recommend you to develop on your production site.

Everything that you set up in development mode can be merged into your production mode. This means that you can make your app on your .webflow.io domain. Once you've done making your app, you can set up a custom domain for your app and copy Forms and Connect into your production site.

Currency

The currency is the one that will appear in the checkout modal for users who sign up for a paid plan of your app. This is the currency in which the user will be billed for their subscription to your app. By default, the currency will be set to US Dollars.

You can't change the currency of your plans after publishing your plans.

Connect Stripe

Stripe allows you to accept credit card payments and create subscriptions for most of the major debit and credit cards, including Visa and MasterCard. Busywork allows you to accept one-time and recurring payments once you have a Stripe account.

To start accepting payments you need to either create or connect a Stripe account in the Users section's Settings page. This will grant Busywork permission to create plans, customers and payments on your behalf.

Once you've connected your Stripe account, and filled your settings, you'll be able to publish your plans to your app's marketing site.

💡

You'll be able to disconnect your Stripe account from Busywork at any time. Disconnecting your Stripe account will cancel all active subscriptions and revoke access to your app.